MINUTES OF AN EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF THE COUNCIL held at the Guildhall, Portsmouth on Tuesday, 22 March 2016 at 2.00 pm.

Council Members Present

The Right Worshipful The Lord Mayor Councillor Frank Jonas (in the Chair)

Councillors

Dave Ashmore Ian Lyon Hugh Mason Simon Bosher Jennie Brent Gemma New Robert New Ryan Brent Alicia Denny Stuart Potter Ben Dowling Darren Sanders Ken Ellcome Phil Smith John Ferrett Lynne Stagg Sandra Stockdale Margaret Foster **David Fuller** Luke Stubbs Colin Galloway Julie Swan Paul Godier Linda Symes **David Tompkins** Aiden Gray **Scott Harris** Gerald Vernon-Jackson Stephen Hastings Steve Wemyss Hannah Hockaday Matthew Winnington

Lee Hunt

Donna Jones

Suzy Horton

14. Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence were received on behalf of Councillor Yahiya Chowdhury, Councillor Lee Mason and Councillor Will Purvis.

The Lord Mayor gave detailed information concerning filming in the chamber advising that notices had been displayed on the walls concerning the council's rules which strictly prohibit the filming, photographing or recording of members of the public unless they are addressing the meeting and only then if they do not actively object. Filming from gallery to gallery is also prohibited.

Rob Wood

Neill Young

The Lord Mayor also advised that today's meetings are being filmed from a fixed location camera placed in the chamber with the intention of web streaming the recording and that a bell would be used to control speaking times.

The Lord Mayor then gave details of the evacuation procedure and reminded everyone that there are building evacuation signs displayed both inside the public galleries and in the chamber itself. There is also an in/out log book on reception for the public attending council meetings and Guildhall staff will

2 22 March 2016

undertake any roll call of the public using the completed log. Officers will undertake the roll call of members and officers.

15. Deputations from the Public under Standing Order 24

The City Solicitor advised that there were no deputations relating to the business on the agenda of the extraordinary meeting.

16. Admission to the Roll of Honorary Aldermen - Terry Hall

The Lord Mayor advised that the motion to admit Terry Hall as an honorary alderman will need to be passed by not less than two thirds of the members voting.

It was

Proposed by Councillor Gerald Vernon-Jackson Seconded by Councillor Hugh Mason

That the title of honorary alderman be conferred on Terry Hall, a former member of the Portsmouth City Council.

The proposer of the motion gave a short speech in support.

RESOLVED unanimously that the title of honorary alderman be conferred on Terry Hall and that a certificate confirming this decision be presented to her at a future city council meeting.

17. Admission to the Roll of Honorary Aldermen - Alistair Thompson

It was

Proposed by Councillor Donna Jones Seconded by Councillor Steve Wemyss

That the title of honorary alderman be conferred on Alistair Thompson, a former member of the Portsmouth City Council.

A short speech in support was made by the proposer of the motion.

RESOLVED unanimously that the title of honorary alderman be conferred on Alistair Thompson and that a certificate confirming this decision be presented to him at a future city council meeting.

decision be presented to him at a future city council me
The meeting concluded at 2.08 pm.

Lord Mayor